

PRESS RELEASE

Monday September 6th 2010

Gay and Lesbian Awards 2010 Finalists Announced

On September 24th 2010 Ireland's top gay celebrities Anna Nolan and Seán Musanje will host the second annual gay and lesbian awards at the Radisson Hotel, Golden Lane, Dublin 8. The National Lesbian and Gay Federation have organised the prestigious awards ceremony for the second year running to honour lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgendered people and organisations for their contributions to society on the island of Ireland. The awards are also to honour politicians, employers and others committed to advancing equality and social acceptance for LGBT people in Ireland.

Nominations are submitted from the public in ten of the twelve award categories which are then shortlisted by a group of diverse regional community organisations. The award categories include Noel Walsh HIV Activist of the Year, Community Organisation of the Year, Volunteer of the Year and Event of the Year. Other award categories recognise and celebrate efforts made by individuals and companies in areas like employment and business, as well as media and broadcasting and arts and entertainment.

Ailbhe Smyth, NLGF Chair, remarked how '2010 has witnessed some outstanding developments for Ireland s LGBT community. We have been really heartened by the tremendous response to the GALAs from the LGBT community and beyond'. She was also delighted that 'this years GALAS have progressed with the addition of an International Activist of the Year award'. This is new award honours activists outside the island of Ireland who are working, sometimes against the odds, for LGBT human rights. The nominations for this award are put forward by a number of human rights organisations and rights groups working in Ireland and abroad, with the winner being selected by the NLGF. The recipient of this award will receive a bursary of €2000 to assist them with their efforts. Having realised the significant advances being made by particular individuals on LGBT and human rights causes globally, the NLGF, Amnesty International, Irish Council for Civil Liberties (ICCL) and Front Line Defenders have committed to bestow this award to different individuals for the following three years.

The shortlisted awards finalists are listed on the following page. Award winners will be honoured on Friday September 24th 2010 at the Radisson Hotel, Golden Lane, Dublin 8. Tickets for Ireland's biggest celebratory awards in the LGBT community are available from www.tickets.ie

For further information on the GALAS please contact:

Josh Whelan (NLGF Board of Directors) +353860672010 / whelanigh <a href="whel

Short-List: Marriage Equality

Northwest Pride

TENI

Category 2 Volunteer of the Year

Short-List John Fennell

Maureen Looney Billy Rabbitte

Category 3 Employer of the Year

Short-List An Garda Síochána

IBM

Microsoft Ireland

Category 4 Business Person of the Year

Short-List Darina Brennan, Fire Restaurant

Ray O'Neill, Machna Anita Thoma, Il Primo

Category 5 LGBT-Friendly Politician of the Year

Short-List Ivana Bacik

Eoghan Harris David Norris

Category 6 Journalist/Broadcaster of the Year

Short-List Carol Coulter

Martina Devlin Fintan O'Toole

Category 7 Online Award: Blogger/Website of the Year

Short-List Maman Poulet

Marriage Equality

Queer ID

Category 8 Event of the Year

Short-List Absolut Theatre Festival

Dublin Pride 2010 Growing Up Gay

Category 9 Noel Walsh HIV Activist Award

Short-List Dublin Aids Alliance

Jimmy Goulding Red Ribbon

Category 10 Artist/Entertainer of the Year

Short-List Panti/Rory O'Neill

Colm Toibín Dearbhla Walsh

Category 11 International Award

The nominations for this award will be made by a number of human rights organisations (Amnesty International, ICCL and Front Line Defenders) and the winner will be selected by the NLGF.

Category 12 Person of the Year

There is no short-list for this award. The winner will be selected by the NLGF.